The Five Stages of Interior Design

Programming Phase 1:
Includes the interior plan analysis upon review of the architectural drawings, discussion of budget and its allocation, research of local codes and creation of design concept contingent of the needs and desires of the client. 

Schematic Phase 2: 
Includes the preparation and submittal of preliminary furniture, finishes, lighting, millwork, details and schedules, and space planning options. Consultations occur with architect and/or contractor and others associated with the project to assure that the design is code compliant. Casual presentation of designs/finishes. 

Design Development Phase 3: 
Includes a more finished presentation of refined interior finishes, including millwork, furnishings, fixtures, finishes, and materials.  All items are specified within the allotted budget. A set of drawings will be presented to the contactor to include: 
  • Construction/Demo plans
  • Floor Plans
  • Furniture plans +Furniture schedules
  • Finish plans + Finish schedules
  • Reflected ceiling plans + Lighting schedules
  • Plumbing Plans + Plumbing schedules
  • Interior Elevations
  • Details
  • Renderings
Construction Document Phase 4:  
Includes the time spent preparing purchase orders, ordering all FF&A (furniture, fixtures and accessories) and following up with all purchases made so that they are shipped in a timely manner. 

Contract Administration Phase 5:  
Includes the supervision of most of the installation of FF&A to insure that the project conforms to the drawings and specifications.